About The Big Nickel

Sanctioned by the Northern Ontario Hockey Association, the Big Nickel Tournament was initiated in 1980 as a means to showcase local hockey talent while raising funds for the Sudbury Minor Hockey Association and other local charities.

At its peak, the tournament attracted as many as 76 teams in three age groups focussing primarily on the major division.  In 2017, the tournamaent expanded its reach to include minor peewee, bantam and midget.

The Big Nickel is 100% volunteer driven and all funds raised from the tournament are donated to the SMHA and other local charities in the region.

The Executive is led by co-chairs Barry McCrory and Bruce Killah, whom between them boast over six decades of minor hockey experience. The tournament's secretary-treasurer is Dave Makela, a Laurentian University SPAD graduate who has been a part of the Big Nickel executive committee since 1986. Directors Greg Pagan and Linda McCrory and new recruit Grant Trayner combine their public sector expertise with a love of Canada's national pastime to round out a highly knowledgeable tournament management team.